The Trust is governed by ten trustees:

W. Stuart Trought, Chairman, Board of Trustees. President of Alderney, 2011 -. Stuart followed a marine career from 1967 until 1985, rising to master and superintendant. Since 1985 he has worked in business internationally, holding a number of directorships and chair with various companies. Stuart is a member of The Honorable Company of Master Mariners, and The Nautical Institute.

In alphabetical order:

Mike Corfield, Dip. Cons. Trust Conservation Advisor. An accredited conservator with over 35 years of experience in conservation. Following his initial training at the Ancient Monuments Laboratory and the Institute of Archaeology, London, he set up and ran the first conservation laboratory in Wiltshire providing conservation services to museums and archaeologists throughout the country. In 1986 he moved to the National Museum of Wales where he was Head of Archaeological Conservation, and later Head of Conservation for the Museum. In 1991 he returned to English Heritage’s Ancient Monuments Laboratory, initially to manage its conservation teams, and then as Head of the Laboratory. In 1999, following the move of the laboratory to Portsmouth, he became English Heritage’s first Chief Scientist, a post he held till his retirement in 2002. Since retiring he has continued his interest in in situ preservation of archaeological remains and has undertaken missions to India and Iran for UNESCO’s World Heritage Office. Has been a member of the Mary Rose Advisory Panel for the conservation of the ship’s hull, and is an adviser to the Newport Medieval Ship Project and Board Member of the Rose Theatre Trust. Fellow of the International Institute of Conservation and Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London (1986).

Dickin Drew, F.C.A . Trust Treasurer. Retired Chairman of International Corporate Finance Business of the international accountancy firm KPMG. Joined London branch of Peat Marwick Mitchell & Co (the predecessor firm of KPMG) in 1959, became Partner in 1971. Business experience, initially in audit and accountancy and latter in international cross-border mergers and acquisitions in the UK, most West and East European Countries, Russia and Middle East, India, Far East, China, Australia, North and Central Africa, Argentina, Brazil, Canada and the USA. Resident in Paris 1967-1996. Retired to Alderney 1998

Louis Jean. Manager of the Alderney Trust’s Maritime Centre. President of the Alderney Society. Before leaving the States of Alderney in 2000 was the ‘Senior States Member’. During his time on the States he served in the following positions: Vice-President of the States of Alderney; Chairman of the Agriculture and Fisheries Committee; Vice-Chairman of the Building and Development Committee; States’ representative and Chairman of St Anne’s School. For seven years was the ‘Aurigny’ (Alderney) Representative on the Guernsey States, in which position he became Vice-President of the Guernsey Sea-Fisheries Committee (the only Alderney man to have become a vice-president of a Guernsey States committee). Before joining the States of Alderney spent eleven years on the Alderney Animal Welfare Committee of which he became Vice-President. Is currently in the property business.

Michael Harrisson. Trust Co-ordinator. Retired Marine Law specialist; in particular litigation and arbitration in the marine, commercial and insurance sectors including salvage, collision, total loss, wreck removal and hull insurance. Has acted for many of the world’s major insurers, European, Japanese, Chinese and American, as well as shipowners, international salvors, tug owners and protection and indemnity insurers. Qualified as solicitor 1971. Made partner of Clyde and Co 1974, established its Marine Casualty Department. Admitted as a solicitor in Hong Kong 1982. 1990-1995 based in Paris; set up Clyde’s Paris office and worked for Paris Commercial and Marine Insurance. Admitted as an Avocat a la Cour d’Appel de Paris in 1994. Retired from Clyde & Co 1997.

David Loades, B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Litt.D., ( Emmanuel College, Cambridge). Trust Historian. A ‘general purpose’ Tudor historian, with particular interests in the Reformation, the Court and the Navy. Has taught at the universities of St Andrews (1961-63), Durham (1963-80), and Wales (Bangor) where he held the Chair of History from 1980 until retirement in 1996. In addition to Emeritus status in Wales, has an Honorary Chair at the University of Sheffield. Was Director of the British Academy’s John Foxe Project from 1993 to 2004; is currently its Consultant Director. Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London since 1984. Visiting Fellow at All Souls College, Oxford, 1988-89. Most relevant publications : The Tudor Navy (1992); The Anthony Roll of Henry V111 (with Charles Knighton) (2000); Letters from the Mary Rose (with Charles Knighton) (2002).

Phil Murray.  Joined the Trustees in February, 2007, after many years on the team, first as a diver and later as a Chief Diver. Since his earliest memories in Sheffield (where he began work in the steel industry), Phil has always been fascinated by ships and the sea.  This led to diving.  In 1978 he became a sports diver, in 1981 a professional commercial diver and, in 2005, a Comercial Dive Supervisor.  In 1986 he was sent to Alderney to carry out underwater maintenance on the breakwater, and has been working on it most years since.  In addition to being a mainstay of the wreck team, Phil is also one of the Island’s lifeboat crew and an instructor with the Alderney Diving Club.  Phil lives in a house he built beside the lighthouse from where he can look out over the wreck site.

David Parham, BA (Hons) Msc FSA MIFA RPA. The Trust’s Director of Archaeology, appointed December 2013. Senior Lecturer in Marine Archaeology Bournemouth University (2004 – present). Research Fellow, Bournemouth University (2001- 2004). Project Officer, Trust for Wessex Archaeology (1999 – 2001). Training Officer, Nautical Archaeology Society (1997 – 1999). Research Assistant, University of Southampton (1997). Field Officer, Hampshire & Wight Trust for Maritime Archaeology (1995 -1997). Project Officer, Alderney Elizabethan Shipwreck Project (1993 – 1995 seasons). Director, The Dodman Project (1984-92 Seasons). Senior Adjuster, Lloyds Insurance Syndicate 1104 (1985 –1992). Sole Director, Sub Sea Archaeology